Go To Search
Click to Home
Inventory Reporting
HazMat General Information
There are fixed facilities in almost every county, which use, produce and/or store hazardous chemicals. The LEPC/TERC needs to be aware of all the facilities in their district, and especially the ones handling EHS. These facilities may be privately or government owned and they all may be subject to some provisions of the law. Federal facilities also must comply with the provisions of the EPCRA.

Hazardous materials have one or more of the following characteristics:





Biological Hazard

Color Coding
Hazardous materials are color coded as well with a visual reference. In addition, each color is labeled "0" to "4" to indicate the increased level of harm it can cause, with the higher number each reaching a higher risk level.
  • Blue - Identification of Health Hazard, Type of Possible Injury
  • Red - Identification of Flammability, Susceptibility of Materials to Burning
  • Yellow - Identification of Reactivity Stability, Susceptibility to Release of Energy
  • White - Identification of Special Hazards Not Covered by Other Categories

Many solids, gasses and liquids used in the production of fuels, medicines, plastics, and other products and processes in our community are classified as hazardous. Hazardous materials are used, stored, and transported daily throughout the country.
Under most circumstances, these materials are handled safely. However, when improperly handled, disposed of, or released, these substances can become hazardous to people and the environment necessitating coordinated planning for emergencies.

Richland County
201 W. Main
Sidney, MT 59270